WIFF Awards

WIFF Prize in Canadian Film

WIFF is committed to celebrating excellence in Canadian film by honouring Canadian films and filmmakers with an annual cash prize of $10,000. An independent jury comprised of film industry experts selects the winner. The Francophone-Indigenous film KUESSIPAN, directed by Myriam Verreault was the recipient of the inaugural 2019 prize. Nominees are announced annually at WIFF @ TIFF, an annual celebration held each September on the rooftop of the TIFF Bell Lightbox, during the Toronto International Film Festival week.


Spotlight Award

The WIFF Spotlight Award is given to recipients who have achieved a distinguished film career with films or performances that have made an impact within the film industry. The first WIFF Spotlight Award was given to the Academy Award-nominated star of House of Sand And Fog, Shohreh Aghdashloo, at the 2019 festival. Shohreh was in attendance for a weekend at WIFF to receive her award, did a fantastic Q&A about her career prior to her most recent film, Simple Wedding.

Lifetime Achievement Award

The WIFF Lifetime Achievement Award is given to recipients who are recognized for their contributions and impacts over their whole career to the film industry.

The first WIFF Lifetime Achievement Award was given to Canadian director, producer and screenwriter Norman Jewison as he attended the 2014 festival to receive his award and participate in a Q&A. The second WIFF Lifetime

Achievement Award was given to American actress, Lois Smith, as she attended the 2017 festival to receive her award, as well as do a Q&A about her career that spanned eight decades before her newest film, Marjorie Prime.

Liuna! People’s Choice Award

The Liuna! People’s Choice Award is one of the festival’s most coveted prizes. This award is given to the film that has the highest rating from the audience.

After every screening, audience members can vote with a ballot on a scale of 1-5 of how much they enjoyed the film. At the end of the festival, the Liuna! People’s Choice Award is awarded. The past winners since the inception of the People’s Choice Award are as follows:

(2011) – IN DARKNESS | (2012) – THE INTOUCHABLES | (2013) – GABRIELLE & SHORT TERM 12 | (2014) – WHIPLASH | (2015) – TRUMBO | (2016) – MAUDIE | (2017) – LOVING VINCENT | (2018) THE RUSSIAN FIVE | (2019) PREY